Code

Opened 4 months ago

Closed 3 months ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#21727 closed Cleanup/optimization (fixed)

Add note about active superuser and permissions

Reported by: daGrevis Owned by: nobody
Component: Documentation Version: master
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Accepted
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: yes UI/UX: no

Description

Had some hard time finding out why my permission methods always did return True.

https://github.com/daGrevis/django/compare/django:master...master

Attachments (0)

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 4 months ago by timo

  • Easy pickings set
  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Triage Stage changed from Unreviewed to Accepted

As we discussed in IRC, I don't think it's such a surprising behavior that it needs a warning and I prefer to try to link together our docs rather than say the same thing in multiple places. For example in docs/topics/auth/default.txt we could add a link so that:

  "prompts you to create a superuser"

becomes:

  "prompts you to create a :attr:`superuser <django.contrib.auth.models.User.is_superuser>`".

Similar links for the is_staff flag would be helpful.

comment:3 Changed 3 months ago by Tim Graham <timograham@…>

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In d35f2bfd5b3a73340275bbd2af5065cba8d42c97:

Fixed #21727 -- Added some links to help clarify topics/auth/default.txt

Thanks daGrevis for the suggestion.

comment:4 Changed 3 months ago by Tim Graham <timograham@…>

In b63dad3f452d8331d6e0372192a8ed2fcda23815:

[1.6.x] Fixed #21727 -- Added some links to help clarify topics/auth/default.txt

Thanks daGrevis for the suggestion.

Backport of d35f2bfd5b from master

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.