Code

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#4043 closed (wontfix)

links to old versions of documentation are displayed even when that documentation page didn't exist in previous versions

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: nobody
Component: *.djangoproject.com Version: master
Severity: Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Accepted
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: UI/UX:

Description

The docs for 0.96 link to http://www.djangoproject.com/documentation/0.96/webdesign/ for the webdesign helpers documentation, but the link gives a 404.

Attachments (0)

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by Simon G. <dev@…>

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Triage Stage changed from Unreviewed to Ready for checkin

The link is correct (../webdesign/) but the docs don't exist in 0.96

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by mtredinnick

  • Component changed from Documentation to Django Web site

Moving to website component. There is no error in the documentation in trunk.

comment:3 Changed 7 years ago by Gary Wilson <gary.wilson@…>

  • Triage Stage changed from Ready for checkin to Accepted
  • Version changed from 0.96 to SVN

#4083 marked as a duplicate. This is a problem for all documentation that didn't exist in previous versions, as the links to the "old documentation" are still generated even though they don't exist.

Moving this to Accepted since there are some changes in the documentation application that need to be fixed.

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by Gary Wilson <gary.wilson@…>

  • Summary changed from webdesign helpers link in 0.96 docs gives 404 to links to old versions of documentation are displayed even when that documentation page didn't exist in previous versions

Changing title to reflect the more general problem.

comment:5 Changed 7 years ago by ubernostrum

#4419 was marked as a duplicate.

comment:6 Changed 6 years ago by jacob

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

The new docs get this right. At least, they will once we have more than one new version of them; I'm not going to bother fixing the old ones.

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.