Code

Opened 7 months ago

Closed 7 months ago

Last modified 7 months ago

#21136 closed New feature (wontfix)

Show Tracebacks to a certain set of users

Reported by: lorenz-dev@… Owned by: nobody
Component: Core (Other) Version: 1.5
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Unreviewed
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: no UI/UX: no

Description

I'd like to be able to configure DEBUG a bit further. Well, not really. I'd like something like the ADMINISTRATORS setting to configure which users to show tracebacks to.

To explain a bit further, here's my usecase: We have written a network management tool that is used both by the network administrators and the users. Users can see their status, terminate their contract, etc. Administrators create contracts, assign subnets, handle payments, and so on. Each of our developers is also an administrator, and all administrators have a rough understanding of how the software does things. We're not super-professional or anything and it's a rather large project, so bugs happen. No we obviously can't just enable DEBUG - that would be moronic. But we do want the administrators to see the tracebacks they cause. We can't, however, put them all in the ADMINISTRATORS setting, because the tracebacks often contain sensitive information. Therefore, we'd like to be able to configure, e.g. via the permissions system, to whom tracebacks are shown. Does that make it clear?

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 7 months ago by timo

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

You can do this with some custom middleware like this. I'm not sure if including something like this in Django core has been discussed before, but I feel like each use case may be a bit different, so letting third parties implement their own solution makes sense.

comment:2 Changed 7 months ago by lorenz-dev@…

Wow, thank you, that is very much what we want to do. I didn't know this was even possible, but seeing as it is, wontfix sounds right. Thank you again.

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.