Code

Opened 21 months ago

Closed 21 months ago

Last modified 21 months ago

#19180 closed Uncategorized (fixed)

Inaccurate documentation regarding "frozen docs"

Reported by: timo Owned by: nobody
Component: Documentation Version: master
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Accepted
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: no UI/UX: no

Description

Doesn't seem accurate to me, but wanted to get a +1 before removing:

Documentation for a particular Django release is frozen once the version
has been released officially. It remains a snapshot of the docs as of the
moment of the release. We will make exceptions to this rule in
the case of retroactive security updates or other such retroactive
changes. Once documentation is frozen, we add a note to the top of each
frozen document that says "These docs are frozen for Django version XXX"
and links to the current version of that document.

https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/1.4/intro/whatsnext/

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 21 months ago by russellm

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Triage Stage changed from Unreviewed to Accepted

Agreed - this is misleading. It was true(er) in the days of 0.9X, but it certainly isn't now. We shouldn't just delete it, though -- we should point out that we maintain different versions of the docs, one for each major release, so it's important to make sure you're looking at the right version of the docs, etc.

comment:2 Changed 21 months ago by Tim Graham <timograham@…>

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 5c143cb340df6825714a6317901b6df03d4ef4b0:

Fixed #19180 - Clarified policy regarding older versions of the docs.

comment:3 Changed 21 months ago by Tim Graham <timograham@…>

In 84849723ad374672d22369c9ff98952956136394:

[1.5.X] Fixed #19180 - Clarified policy regarding older versions of the docs.

Backport of 5c143cb340 from master

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.