Code

Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#8991 closed (wontfix)

Remove "version[added|changed]" from trunk docs

Reported by: telenieko Owned by: telenieko
Component: Documentation Version: master
Severity: Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Accepted
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: UI/UX:

Description

Just as a reminder, I'm doing the patch ;)

Attachments (1)

django.git-docs-trunk.patch (60.2 KB) - added by telenieko 6 years ago.
Fix.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by telenieko

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Owner changed from nobody to telenieko
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Status changed from new to assigned

Changed 6 years ago by telenieko

Fix.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by telenieko

  • Triage Stage changed from Unreviewed to Accepted

Here it goes, note that the patch also changes a part of contributing.txt clarifying the "version[added|changed]" thing a bit more. (That patch is a diff of my docs branch so that came with the diff...)

Hope it's ok. As always, up-to-date diff without conflicts (hopefully) on my git tree

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by julianb

Why is it going to be removed?

comment:4 Changed 6 years ago by telenieko

Because documentation is not a Version Control System, those notes are meant to be kept so you know what's new in a given version, but keeping them all the way can lead to an unmanegeable documentation (i.e.: Paragraphs added to explain changes from X.Y to X.Z, etc) it's up to every project to decide how many of those to keep, and wich ones.

It's just a matter of preference, it's mostly up to Jacob to decide how to treat the version[added|changed] stuff.

I personally would prefer to remove everything pre-1.0, and on 1.1 leave the notes that make sense to stay until 1.2 (i.e. deprecated features (versionchanged) should stay in docs until they are completely dropped).

comment:5 Changed 6 years ago by telenieko

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

As per IRC, it's prefered to keep those strings not excluding rewritting docs parts for better styling as long as the "When was this added/changed" is still there.

comment:6 Changed 6 years ago by jacob

FTR, this is what I told teleniko on IRC: These directives are there for a reason: the docs get better over time, but people don't always upgrade to newer releases. So I want to leave 'em so that folks reading newer docs don't get (too) confused.

comment:7 Changed 5 years ago by anonymous

  • milestone post-1.0 deleted

Milestone post-1.0 deleted

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.