Code

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

Last modified 8 years ago

#1755 closed enhancement (wontfix)

[patch] make 'manage.py syncdb' not wait for user input

Reported by: medhat Owned by: adrian
Component: Core (Management commands) Version: master
Severity: trivial Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Unreviewed
Has patch: yes Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: UI/UX:

Description

This will be mainly useful for developers who are constantly changing their model and rebuilding the database.
When doing the development I use sqlite, and I have a batch file that I run to delete the database and then run 'manage.py syncdb' to recreate the model with all the changes that I have done. It will be nicer if syncdb does not ask for user input (right now it asks for a user to create.) Maybe it should read its input from some configuration file (settings.py is a good candidate.) Along with this, it will be also nice if instead of just creating 'example.com' it would read the site name from settings.py also.

Attachments (1)

django_1755.patch (2.8 KB) - added by medhat 8 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

Changed 8 years ago by medhat

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by anonymous

  • Version set to SVN

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by medhat

  • Summary changed from make 'manage.py syncdb' not wait for user input to [patch] make 'manage.py syncdb' not wait for user input

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by adrian

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

I'm not a huge fan of putting a plaintext default password in the default settings file. Also, you can avoid the problem you're having by only resetting the tables in the app you're changing, not all apps. (E.g., manage.py sqlreset.)

comment:4 Changed 8 years ago by ubernostrum

As an alternative solution, a script can use Django's dispatcher to disconnect the event django/contrib/auth/management.py fires when the table is created.

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.