Code

Opened 3 years ago

Closed 2 years ago

#16171 closed Bug (fixed)

"Easy pickings unset" is confusing lots of people

Reported by: lukeplant Owned by: nobody
Component: *.djangoproject.com Version: 1.3
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Ready for checkin
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: no UI/UX: no

Description

People keep getting the message "Easy pickings unset" after making a change on a ticket, and then they get confused, and sometimes they come back and 'revert' e.g.

https://code.djangoproject.com/ticket/7028#comment:58

Can someone with server access run a query to set all the NULLs for that flag to 0 or whatever the value should be?

(It is possible to do it with the batch modify interface and a query like this: https://code.djangoproject.com/query?status=!closed&easy=!1&easy=!0

But then my name will be on 1296 open tickets, which is a pain because, although I read django-updates anyway, getting e-mail personally about every ticket will break the email filters I have which currently can distinguish between django-updates and the tickets that I've actually been involved in).

Attachments (0)

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by lukeplant

  • Triage Stage changed from Unreviewed to Accepted
  • UI/UX unset

And the UI/UX flag while we are at it.

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by ramiro

... and now we have a similar problem with the new UI/UX flag :)

comment:3 Changed 2 years ago by aaugustin

  • Triage Stage changed from Accepted to Ready for checkin

Moving to RFC — this isn't a ticket the community can act upon.

comment:4 Changed 2 years ago by aaugustin

Given Trac's database schema, this isn't trivial to do in the database:

code.djangoproject=> select name, value, count(ticket) from ticket_custom group by name, value order by name, value;
        name        |         value          | count 
--------------------+------------------------+-------
 easy               | 0                      |  2681
 easy               | 1                      |   480
 easy               |                        |    13
 has_patch          | 0                      |  9242
 has_patch          | 1                      |  8136
 needs_better_patch |                        |     2
 needs_better_patch | 0                      | 15589
 needs_better_patch | 1                      |  1193
 needs_better_patch |                        |     2
 needs_docs         |                        |     2
 needs_docs         | 0                      | 16199
 needs_docs         | 1                      |   583
 needs_docs         |                        |     2
 needs_tests        |                        |     2
 needs_tests        | 0                      | 15826
 needs_tests        | 1                      |   956
 needs_tests        |                        |     2
 stage              | Accepted               |  5284
 stage              | Design decision needed |  1299
 stage              | Fixed on a branch      |    41
 stage              | Ready for checkin      |  2403
 stage              | Someday/Maybe          |   113
 stage              | Unreviewed             |  8238
 ui_ux              | 0                      |  2567
 ui_ux              | 1                      |   146
 ui_ux              |                        |    12
(26 rows)

One would have to insert a row in this table for every ticket number, unless there is one already.


However, the way the tracker notifies contributors has changed since this ticket was opened. I think it's now possible to do it with the "batch modify" plugin without side effect.

I've done that, except that I managed to mix easy and ui_ux, but fortunately I could recover the list of tickets where I had accidentally unset ui_ux, and set the flag again in batch.

Last edited 2 years ago by aaugustin (previous) (diff)

comment:5 Changed 2 years ago by aaugustin

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.