Code

Opened 3 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#15666 closed (worksforme)

Release notes link to development version of documentation

Reported by: Keryn Knight <keryn@…> Owned by: nobody
Component: Documentation Version: master
Severity: Keywords: releasenotes
Cc: Triage Stage: Unreviewed
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: UI/UX:

Description

The release notes for 1.3, 1.2, and 1.1 each rely on linking to the documentation regarding changes and improvements, but (possibly because of the way sphinx works?) instead of linking to the version specific documentation, they all lead to the /dev/ docs, which will obviously change after 1.3, and have certainly changed since 1.1 and 1.2 - this could make upgrading using the online docs as a guide more confusing than it otherwise would be, and leaves them historically accurate taken on their own, but not as part of overall documentation.

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by gabrielhurley

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

The way sphinx generates links, it will link to whatever version of the docs you are currently reading. For example:

  • If you are reading the 1.2 release notes in 1.3, all links will be to the 1.3 docs.
  • If you are reading the 1.1 release notes in the dev docs, all links will be to the dev version.

and so on and so forth.

In my mind, this is as it should be. I understand why this might be confusing to someone who arrived via google (which would take you to the 1.3 docs by default) looking specifically for old information, but if you're looking for documentation on a specific older version it's made pretty obvious at the top of every page what version you're reading.

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by Keryn Knight <keryn@…>

Yeah, I've just verified that's the way it's working, which is, I agree, how it should be; I think it's just the weblog linking to the dev version of the documentation that caused my confusion (and then clicking to each set of release notes from that caused me to go further down the rabbit hole).

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.