Code

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#10269 closed (duplicate)

misleading part/info in wrong context in poll tutorial part 1

Reported by: fetzig Owned by: nobody
Component: Documentation Version: 1.0
Severity: Keywords:
Cc: Triage Stage: Unreviewed
Has patch: no Needs documentation: no
Needs tests: no Patch needs improvement: no
Easy pickings: UI/UX:

Description

from http://docs.djangoproject.com/en/dev/intro/tutorial01/#intro-tutorial01
If unicode() doesn't seem to work

If you add the unicode() method to your models and don't see any change in how they're represented, you're most likely using an old version of Django. (This version of the tutorial is written for the latest development version of Django.) If you're using a Subversion checkout of Django's development version (see the installation docs for more information), you shouldn't have any problems.

This section tells you to make a django update if nothing changes. But this will happen anyway. Need to call

python manage.py shell

Before the model updates in the shell, or maybe just execute

from mysite.polls.models import Poll, Choice

...don't know exactly.

My suggestion:

  1. Move this info down (where the shell is started again)
  2. Add a sentence to the info: "You have to exit (Ctrl-d) and start again ("python manage.py shell") before this changes are active."

Would prefer 2, but that's up to you guys.

Whatever, this tutorial is very very very accurate and easy to follow. But this part was a little bit misleading. So I thought I make a ticket.

Attachments (0)

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 5 years ago by kmtracey

  • Needs documentation unset
  • Needs tests unset
  • Patch needs improvement unset
  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

This seems to be reporting the same confusion as #10266.

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.