Code


Version 125 (modified by aplanas <aplanas@…>, 7 years ago) (diff)

Added in Spanish localization work

Offers of translation

(please add yourself if you wish to translate parts of Django to other languages, please keep the list in English alphabetical order)

  • Arabic (ar): Ahmad Alhashemi <ahmad dot alhashemi at gmail dot com>
  • Bengali (bn): Baishampayan Ghose <b.ghose at gnu dot org dot in>
  • Bulgarian (bg): Jordan Dimov <s3x3y1@…>
  • Catalan (ca): Marc Fargas <telenieko@…>
  • Chinese, Simplified (zh_CN): alang.yl@…, limodou@…,stan8688@…, nick.nickcheng@…
  • Chinese, Traditional (zh_TW): Yung-Yu Chen <yyc@…>, dwight <dwight_at_ccns.ncku.edu.tw>
  • Croatian (hr): Aljosa Mohorovic <aljosa.mohorovic@…>
  • Czech (cs_CZ): translate@…
  • Danish (da): Morten Bagai <m@…>
  • Dutch (nl): Johan C. Stöver <johan at nilling dot nl>, Rudolph Froger <rudolph.froger at gmail dot com>
  • Finnish (fi): Antti Kaihola <antti dot kaihola at linux dash aktivaattori dot org>, Ville Säävuori <ville@…>
  • French (fr_FR): yeiazel <yeiazel@…>, asrenzo <laurent.rahuel@…>, pablo <pablo.pernot@…>, mikael <mikael.barbero_at_NOSPAM_free.fr>, gaël <gael.dev_AT_NOSPAM_4now.net>
  • Galician (gl): Afonso Fernández Nogueira <fonzzo.django@…>
  • German (de_DE): hugo <gb@…>, Paulus <krabbe@…>, lukas <lucky@…>, patrick <patrick@…>, Dirk Eschler <dirk.eschler@…>, Jannis Leidel <jl@…>
  • Greek (el): panos <panos.laganakos at gmail dot com>, orestis <orestis at orestis dot gr>, Dimitris Glezos <dimitris at glezos dot com>
  • Hebrew (he): Meir Kriheli <meir at mksoft dot co dot il>
  • Hungarian (hu): Károly Nagy <charlie at rendszergazda dot com>, Szilveszter Farkas <szilveszter dot farkas at gmail dot com>
  • Icelandic (is): Dagur Páll Ammendrup <dagurp at gmail dot com>
  • Italian (it_IT): Nicola Larosa <nico at tekNico dot net>, Carlo C8E Miron <carlo.miron AT gmail.com>, Paolo Dina <paolo@…>, Ludovico Magnocavallo <ludo@…>, Antonio Cavedoni <antonio@…>, Marco Del Tongo <info@…>, Daniele Spinosa <picioslug@…>
  • Japanese (ja): makoto tsuyuki <mtsuyuki at gmail dot com>
  • Kannada (kn): Pradeep Kishore Gowda <pradeep.gowda at gmail dot com>
  • Korean (ko): Hyun Mi Ae <happyhyun at gmail dot com>, Sung Jin Hong <serialx.net at gmail dot com>
  • Latvian (lv): Edgars Jēkabsons <edgars@…>, Gatis Tomsons <gatis.tomsons@…>
  • Macedonian (mk): Georgi Stanojevski <glisha gmail com>
  • Mongolian (mn): Natsagdorj Shagdar <natsag2000 at yahoo dot com>
  • Norwegian (no): Espen Grindhaug <espen@…>
  • Persian (fa): #4624 - Reza Mohammadi <reza@…>
  • Polish (pl): Marcin Kaszynski <marcink@…>
  • Portuguese (pt_BR): Mario Caseiro <mario.caseiro at gmail.com>, Gabriel Sales de Oliveira <gabriel.sales at gmail dot com>, Kao Cardoso Félix <kcfelix [at] gmail [dot] com> Andre A Duarte <andre_sie at terra.com.br >
  • Romanian (ro): Tiberiu Micu <tibimicu at gmx dot net>
  • Russian (ru): Grigory Fateyev <greg at dial dot com dot ru>, Dmitry Sorokin <dimas at dial dot com dot ru>
  • Serbian (sr, sr_YU - cyrillic, sr@Latin, sr_YU@Latin - latin): Nebojša Đorđević <nesh@…>, Petar Marić <petar.maric@…>
  • Slovak (sk): Vladimir Labath <vlado at labath dot org>
  • Slovenian (sl): Jure Čuhalev <gandalf@…>, Gašper Žejn <zejn@…>
  • Spanish (es_ES): Ricardo Cárdenes <ricardo.cardenes@…>, Gustavo Picon <gpicon@…>, Jorge Gajon <jorge.gajon@…>, Antonio Melé <antonio.mele@…>, Alberto Planas <aplanas [at] gmail [dot] com>. (es_AR): Ramiro Morales <cramm0 at gmail dot com>
  • Swedish (sv): Mikko Hellsing <mikko|sorl|net>, Ludvig Ericson <ludvig.ericson|gmail com>
  • Tamil (ta): R Hariram Aatreya <rha at au-kbc dot org>
  • Telugu(te): U.Chinna Obula Reddy <ucoreddy@…>
  • Welsh (cy): Jason Davies <jason at jasondavies dot com>

How to Send Translations

The best way to send in translations - after registering oneself as translator above - is to create a ticket and to attach the new .po file to that ticket (please don't attach .po files to this page, use the ticket system!). Use "Translations" as the component when you file the ticket, so that it shows up in {13}.

Additionally it would be great if you join the Django I18N mailing list.

How to Update Translations

  1. Ensure that you are running the latest subversion checkout of the code - run "svn update" in your local django subversion copy.
  2. Run bin/make-messages.py -l <locale> and you get updated .po files
  3. Update any untranslated and fuzzy messages with your favorite translation tool. Anything that looks like "%s" or "%(something)s" has to be copied precisely and the 's' may be a 'd' or 'x' or 'i', possibly.
  4. Run bin/compile-messages.py -l <locale> and ensure there are no errors.
  5. Upload the complete new .po files to Trac.

It is best practice to just check every few weeks (once a month or so if you're really enthusiastic; less often if you're not) to see if there's been any big changes.

Prior to any release, Django maintainers will make an announcement. Prior to 1.0, we'll have a couple of weeks of string freeze in order to give people time to be 100% translated.

Tools

This should be a list of useful (and needed) software for translators to work on .po files.

Linux and other Unix Systems

  • required for make-messages.py and compile-messages.py: the gettext utilities. These should be available with your distribution. With Debian based distributions it is the gettext package.

Windows

  • translating: poEdit (supports fuzzy, plural, translation memory, UTF-8, compiles to .mo files - it includes native win32 GNU gettext binaries)

Mac OS X

Translations of the Django documentation

If for some reason you are not interested to translate Django interface, but instead you feel the desire to point your translation weapons against Django documentation (the content of '/docs'), you are invited to use the TranslateDocumentation wiki page to better organize your translation works together with other translators.